How long is SkillBridge
Is SkillBridge six months? Sometimes. Here is the actual length distribution across every program we list, and why a third of listings will not tell you.
Reviewed . Program policy changes. Confirm anything that affects a decision with your command and with the employer.
“Is SkillBridge six months?” is the second most common question about the program, and the honest answer is that six months is the ceiling, not the norm.
Here is the actual distribution, counted from every program in our directory rather than estimated.
The real numbers
Of 4,763 programs from 6,165 authorized organizations, 3,216 state a duration and 1,547 do not.
| Stated duration | Programs | Share of those that state one |
|---|---|---|
| 1 to 30 days | 136 | |
| 31 to 60 days | 184 | |
| 61 to 90 days | 641 | |
| 91 to 120 days | 910 | 28% |
| 121 to 150 days | 250 | |
| 151 to 180 days | 1,044 | 32% |
| More than 180 days | 51 |
Three things fall out of that.
The longest band is the biggest one. 1,044 programs run 151 to 180 days, 32% of everything that states a length. If you assumed most programs were a few weeks, they are not.
But most are still shorter than six months. 2,255 programs run 91 days or more, which is 70% of stated durations. That leaves 961 programs at 90 days or under, 30%. Plenty of real options exist for someone who cannot give up half a year.
Short programs are genuinely rare. Only 136 programs run 30 days or less. If your window is nearly gone, your choices narrow sharply, which is the practical argument for starting early.
The third of the directory that will not say
1,547 listings, 32% of the directory, carry the literal value “Under Review” in the duration field instead of a length.
We show those as “Duration not stated” rather than guessing, and we show the raw source value on the program page so you can see exactly what the organization filed. We will not convert a placeholder into a number. Organizations are required under section 4.2.14 to keep their listings accurate and current, and a duration that has been under review indefinitely is a listing nobody has revisited.
That matters more than it looks. Duration is one of the two fields that decide whether a program is even possible for you, along with location. A listing that omits it cannot be evaluated against your separation date, and it is the first thing to ask about if the program otherwise appeals.
This is also why we do not publish an average length. An average over two thirds of a dataset, presented as though it described the whole, would be a worse answer than the distribution above.
How we read a duration
Worth knowing how the number on a listing gets there, because this is a field where directories quietly invent precision.
The Department of Defense export uses a closed set of bands: “1 - 30 days”, “61 - 90 days”, “151 - 180 days”, “More than 180 days”, and the placeholder “Under Review”. We parse those into a range, convert to weeks for display, and show the original source string underneath on the program page so you can always see what the organization actually filed.
Where we refuse to convert is a value with no unit. A bare “21” could be days or weeks, and those are wildly different commitments. We will not guess, so anything we cannot parse with confidence renders as “Duration not stated” with the raw value shown in full. That is deliberately less tidy than picking a unit and moving on, and it is the difference between a directory you can check and one you have to trust.
The same discipline applies to “Under Review”. It is a placeholder somebody left in a form, not a short program, and presenting it as a number would be inventing data.
If the listing does not state a length
For the 1,547 programs in that position, the length is the first thing to ask about, and it is worth asking precisely.
Ask for the start date and the end date rather than a duration in the abstract. A program described as “about three months” that starts on a fixed cohort date is a different proposition from one that can begin when your window opens. Ask whether the dates are fixed or rolling, whether there is a cohort you would join, and what happens if your separation date shifts.
Then check the answer against two things: your real separation date, and the agreement expiration on the organization’s listing. A program whose length you have just confirmed is 180 days, offered by an organization whose memorandum of understanding expires in four months, is a plan with a problem in it. We show that expiration on every listing precisely so you can spot the collision before you build a packet around it.
Why 180 days is the boundary
The memorandum of understanding describes SkillBridge as training “within 180 days of separation from active-duty service”. The window is anchored to your separation date, so it moves when your date moves.
Two consequences.
A program that runs the full 151 to 180 days has to start almost exactly at your 180-day mark, which means every approval has to be finished before then. There is no slack.
And the 51 programs listing more than 180 days cannot fit as complete programs. They may be civilian training courses that continue past your separation, or a listing filled out loosely. Either is possible, and the only way to know is to ask.
Length is not quality
Longer is not better. A 180-day program that parks you in a corner is worse than a 60-day program that puts you on a real team with a real deliverable and a manager who will take your call afterward.
What length does tell you is cost and risk. A longer in-person program away from home is more subsistence, lodging, and travel out of your pocket, and more time exposed to a unit deciding it needs you back. A shorter or remote program is a smaller bet on both counts.
Sort by duration in the directory, filter to what your window can actually hold, and then judge the programs inside that set on what they will teach you.
Next step
Every listing shows a normalized duration with the source value beneath it.
Where this comes from
Everything above is drawn from the sources below. Figures about the directory itself are counted from our own data at the moment this page was built, not typed in by hand.
- DoD SkillBridge Memorandum of Understanding, revision of 24 May 2024, released August 2024sections 1, 4.2.14, 4.2.15
- HiredTroops directory data, counted at build time
HiredTroops is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Department of Defense, the Department of War, or any branch of the U.S. Armed Forces. We do not run SkillBridge, and we cannot approve you for it.